Celebrities Election Results

May 10, 2010
Bong Revilla

Sen. Bong Revilla

The official election results of the celebrities who stood as candidates in the May 2010 Philippines Elections. In the Presidential race, former actor Joseph Erap Estrada is second to Sen. Noynoy Aquino. In the Vice Presidential race, actor Edu Manzano placed a distant fifth. Sen. Bong Revilla topped the Senate race, with another actor, Sen. Jinggoy Estrada placing second. Former Sen. Tito Sotto is winning. Another former actor, Sen. Lito Lapid is within the winning column consistently placing at no. 11. Imelda Papin is certain to lose in the Senate race. Media personalities Gilbert Remulla, Kata Inocencio, Alex Tinsay and Rey Langit, are also certain to lose, while another former broadcaster Risa Hontiveros-Baraquel still has a fighting chance for the last Senate seat at stake. Boxing champ Manny Pacquiao won as congressman of a legislative district in Sarangani. Lucy Torres-Gomez (in lieu of husband Richard Gomez) also won the right to represent the 4th district of Leyte in Congress. Lani Mercado, wife of Senate race topnotcher Sen. Bong Revilla, won as representative of the newly created District of Bacoor, Cavite. Dan Fernandez won in his re-election bid in the 1st District of Laguna. GMA-7 reporter Maki Pulido is running for Congress in Pangasinan, no reports yet if she won. Rico J. Puno lost for Vice Mayor of Makati City. In the Gubernatorial races, Gov. Vilma Santos won as Batangas Governor. Actor Cesar Montano lost and managed to only place in third in his home province of Bohol. ER Ejercito (George Estregan Jr.) won as Governor of Laguna. Former bold actor Daniel Fernando won as Vice Governor of Bulacan. Rommel Padilla lost for Vice-Governor of Nueva Ecija and Jestoni Alarcon lost in his congressional bid in Rizal. Christopher De Leon won as Board Member of the 4th District of Batangas; Angelica Jones won as Board Member of the 3rd District of Laguna; Gary Estrada won as Board Member in Quezon Province and Teri Onor won as Board Member in the 1st District of Bataan. In various other local positions, Herbert Bautista won as Mayor of Quezon City, while actress Aiko Melendez lost in the vice-mayoralty race. In the race for the Quezon City Council, Ara Mina and Arnel Ignacio lost while Roderick Paulate, Alfred Vargas, Precious Hipolito and Gian Sotto all won. Maybelyn Dela Cruz won as City Councilor of Dagupan City in Pangasinan. Joey Marquez managed to only place third for Mayor of Parañaque. Former ABS-CBN broadcaster Mon Ilagan won his third term for Mayor of Cainta, Rizal. Isko Moreno won as Vice-Mayor of the City of Manila, Anjo Yllana lost as Vice Mayor of Parañaque, while Jobelle Salvador lost as Vice Mayor of the City of Makati. Former sexy star Maita Sanchez, won as Mayor of Pagsanjan, Laguna. She succeeded her husband ER Ejercito as mayor of the town.

Dingdong Avanzado lost in his bid to represent Siquijor in Congress. Ogie Diaz, Glenda Garcia, John Lesaca, and Jaime Fabregas, all lost for Councilor of Quezon City. Robert Ortega, Lou Veloso and Yul Servo, all won for the City Council of Manila. Marjorie Barretto won as Councilor in Caloocan; Alma Moreno, Roselle Nava, Jason Webb and Val Sotto, all won as Councilor in their respective districts in Parañaque. Cristina Gonzales-Romualdez also won as Councilor in Tacloban City. Monsour del Rosario also won for Councilor in Makati City, so does Ryan Yllana for Councilor in Paranaque City. Arvin “Tado” Jimenez lost for Councilor in Marikina City. And as contributed by “Megastar” in the comments section below, beauty queen Daisy Reyes won as Councilor of Pateros. All in all, a total of 111 Filipino celebrities stood as candidates in the 2010 Elections.